TKGA MHKP Swatch One – Attempt One (Failed)

I have been a member of The Knitting Guild Association (TKGA) since January 15, 2015.  Almost seven months later and I have yet to start.

I mean I’ve started but each was frogged.  I’ve had the worst time figuring out how to increase by five stitches evenly after a k2p2 rib.  Something so simple has thrown me for a loop (pun intended) for at least five attempts.

Today is going to be the last.  I’m going to post my journey in this post and those who already follow me on Twitter @CrazyPurls with live updates #TKGAMHK.

I’ve previously mastered the long-tail cast on method, however my friend Polly who writes Knit Me For a Loop has told me she thought she knew too but perhaps wasn’t doing it the way TKGA would want.  So I’ll post links here in case they help someone else on the journey.  As usual, I’ll update my How to Knit page too.

Fair warning, the data below is live knitting data and therefore I cannot know for certain if my tips and tricks had their intended effects.  I might come back and update this post after I submit to TKGA but don’t count on that.

Speaking of that, here is the reference for my long tail cast-on method.  Long-Tail Cast-on (Howcast – Video).

Long Tail Cast On

Long Tail Cast On

For the ribbing I recommend K2P2 (Tricksy Knitter – Blog) to learn the stitch.

My biggest issue on this stitch is keeping a nice even tension on the edges.  What I do is knit the first stitch (in pattern) and then insert my needle to pull a loop through as to knit again; however you do not let the parent stitch fall off as normal.  First you pull your working yarn taunt.  Not too tight, a quick light tug will do.  Let the parent stitch fall off and then bring your yarn towards you for the p2.

K2P2 Rib

K2P2 Ribbing

Now time for the decreases.  For this I just Googled my question.  I’m not the first person to have attempted this and I’m certain that someone else will have solved this problem.  You see I’m on the gray line between perfectionism and OCD.  So it must be even.  How to add five stitches evenly to RIBBING is not a problem I’ve encountered previously.

I started at Stockinette Increase (TECHknitting – Blog). While that was a good demonstration it wasn’t what I needed.  Increasing in Ribbing (Knit Witch – Blog) had just the thing, even though it refers to 3×3 instead of 2×2.  I think the same theories should apply and therefore I’m going for her method.

I’m still driving myself crazy with the whole “increase evenly” thing.  Go from 20 to 25 stitches evenly in the same row.  I never end up with 25 is the problem.  I mapped this out and it seems like a good choice.  It compliments my perfectionism without being perfect.  I can live with that.

I started with this, just instructions for the row without increases.  (warning I did something wrong here; will update in new post)

k2, p2, k2, p2, k2, p2, k2, p2, k2, p2 (20 sts)

Then I added two lines | to signify an increase.

k2, p2, | k2, p2, k2, p2, k2, p2,| k2, p2 (22 sts)

I’m left with needing three more lines.  I decided to put one in the very center.

k2, p2, | k2, p2, k2, | p2, k2, p2,| k2, p2 (23 sts)

That pleased me with symmetry so I figured I’d break up the sections just outside the center in half.  I’m thinking this will work.

k2, p2, | k2, p|2, k2, | p2, k|2, p2,| k2, p2 (25 sts)

If I were to add m1 to each line above, then we’d have the following as instructions.

k2, p2, m1,  k2, p1, m1, p1, k2, m1 p2, k1, m1, k1, p2, m1 k2, p2 (25 sts)

I’m worried on how it will look so I’ve modified the stitches so that they match the stitch they are with.  So I’ve written down the instructions as I knit for accuracy.  Hopefully it helps someone else who is struggling the same as me.

The m1 I’m doing can be found in detail on Stockinette Increase (TECHknitting – Blog).  I won’t borrow someone else’s images, so you must review this post to understand anything I say below. For ALL increases, insert the head of the right needle into the red stitch and put the red stitch onto the needle exactly as shown in TECHknitting’s blog post.

k2

p2

pull up and knit into front loop of red stitch

k2

p1

pull up and purl into the back loop of red stitch,

p1

k2

pull up and purl into the back loop of red stitch

p2

k1

pull up and knit into front loop of red stitch (I’m sure this is where I messed up.  I will try the backloop next time)

k1

p2

pull up and knit into front loop of red stitch

k2

p2

Count up and make sure you have 25 stitches before you move on!  Here is what I ended up with.

K2 P2 Increase Row

K2 P2 Increase Row

Now on to work in garter stitch for some time, that should be easy.  This just means I get to knit each row until I have the prescribed length.  For help with garter stitch, see Garter Stitch (Dummies.com – Website) or Garter Stitch (New Stitch a Day – YouTube Video).

I couldn’t resist taking pictures in progress.  I think the increases I did will work but I had to knit a few rows before I felt more confident in that.  Thoughts?

RS Garter after Increases

RS Garter after Increases

LS Garter after Increase

LS Garter after Increase

I won’t know for sure until I block.  Now just to knit in garter for a bit to get the below.

TKGA Swatch 1 before Bind Off

TKGA Swatch 1 before Bind Off

I will have to reknit this and update this post with the proper increases.  It was definitely one I had wrong and I’ll need to review my notes in this post and correspond with the loose stitch.  since this is for grading, it has to be perfect.  I’d ignore such an error in a sweater.

Mistake in Increase

Mistake in Increase

There is always next time!

3 thoughts on “TKGA MHKP Swatch One – Attempt One (Failed)

  1. I cast on the same way as that video! I think seeing the long-tail method described differently in one book made me appreciate the two-source requirement. Not everyone is going to get everything right.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly my thoughts. I have my own way of doing it. I NEVER do the slip knot b/c why do you want a knot? I just lay the yarn over the needle and that is the first stitch hehe. PS — LOVE duplicate stitch I’m addicted to weaving in ends this way (purl, knit, or garter). Once you get it, you get it and it is fun.

      Liked by 1 person

Famous Last Words:

