Habits

I really do have the best blog thoughts while brushing my teeth.  It happened again tonight!  I was just standing there furiously scrubbing my teeth and my mind wandered. 

Sadly brushing your teeth prevents you from recording anything for later use and I often forget these brilliant ideas by the time I remember I had one.  I have what is called a very short term memory.  I am great at memorization by using mind tricks to make retaining the data easier.  Usually by associating that memory with another item so that one helps you remember or relate to the other.  Sadly this takes time and sometimes repetition to stick forever.  My mind wanders too much and too fast for any memorization techniques to take effect.

So I chanted “face” in my mind until I had a chance to sit down and write to you.  I even took a detour by pouring myself some cereal and chatting with DH.  I sat on the couch and watched the last 10 minutes of a show I started earlier, washed my bowl, and came here for the promised weekly post.

I may be a few days late on this post, but at least I’m here and that is better than my blog abandonment for the past months. Look ahead and not behind I say.

Onto the topic at hand…

I am lacking in habits and I’m really trying to fix that.  This is what I was thinking during my ‘inspiration’ time.  You see, I always have the best intentions but I never follow any routine for too long and my hard work goes to waste. 

Case in point.  I forget to wash my face one night and the next morning it looks like a minefield! This usually occurs because I was wearing make-up on one of the rare occasions I deem worthy of such preparation.  I know better and yet I do it again and again. 

So I thought out a game plan to force myself into such routines.  I would document the journey with pictures.   Maybe not to always show off but to have so I retain the motivation during and after. 

This thought lead to others and I started to make a list in my head of the things I want to add to my daily routines.  Since this blog is mine and I can do whatever I want with it, I figured I could use it to keep track of these goals and sometimes report results *cough* failures to you.

1. Wash my face every morning and night.  This includes extra diligence during the weekends because I cheat a lot on those. 
2. Apply lotion daily.  I do this this a few times a week but I sometimes don’t do it for weeks.  I have dry skin and I want to take better care of my largest organ.
3. Kinda with #2 but I want to track it separately.  I want to take better care of my hands and nails.  I have only recently experience strong natural nails with pervect cuticles.  A big part of this is moisturizing but also filing daily.  It also means I need to stop biting my cuticles.  I’ve done it before and I’ll do it again.

I’m going to leave the list at that.  For now.  It takes thirty days to create a habit and this list will keep me busy for three! I’m sure I’ll come up with more in the meantime.  

Famous Last Words:

