On The Stash

I’ve finally completed #6  on my August Resolution list, Documenting my stash.  I cheated a bit but all is fair in love and yarn…right?

So first, the cheating part.  I’d held on to this huge tub of acrylic yarn.  I fully intended to use most if not all of it but  I knew it’d sit in my stash forevermore.  So I passed it along to a co-worker who can crochet up a storm because I knew she’d put it to good use.

here is the tub, sitting under a box of newly acquired acrylic yarn

Remember how I said I had 21.142045 miles in my stash?  That was including this tub of acrylic.  My new total is *drumroll* 16.976647727273 miles.  That is a purge of over 4 miles and I didn’t need to knit anything to do it.

Let’s be honest here, I have no lofty goals of knitting through my stash.  It’ll never happen.  I have no stash shame and I have gotten to the point where I don’t buy yarn unless I want it in my stash.  I don’t buy purty balls that make nothing.  I buy things on sale and stock up on enough to make something with in the future.

You see, I’ve discovered why we accumulate so much stash and never knit it.  We’re swayed by beauty and not practicality.  If you’re not going to buy at least 500 yards of a particular yarn, take it out of your shopping cart now.

I cannot tell you how many times I’ve thought about knitting this or the other and realized I was short a few hundred yards.  I always buy more than I need.  The sweater calls for 800 yards?  I’ll buy a 1000 yards.  Sure, we’ll end up with leftovers but that’s why you start an odds and ends box.

Not much in there…

This is only for “less than a skein” of yarn.  If you have a skein or more left then put it back into your stash.

Back to the topic at hand, documenting my Ravelry stash!  I took photos of all the lovelies that were camera-shy when they arrived on my doorstep.

I also acquired some new tubs to store my yarn in.  When I say “acquired” I mean I “stole” tubs the fiancé purchased for his work van — that he never used.  Win for me!

Yesterday afternoon I dragged all the yarn out of my closet and put it in the living room.  I wish I’d taken a picture, but the lighting in there is so bad I decided to forgo it.

I’d empty a tub and clean the inside, outside, and lid.  Over the years crude has accumulated and I used to smoke so there was not pretty stuff on my yarn containers.  I reused a few because their size was right.  I don’t have to worry about pests because of where I live.  Just humidity.

Here are the before and after shots.  I also got a new phone with a 41mp camera so the quality is better as well.

RIGHT – BEFORE

RIGHT – AFTER

LEFT BEFORE

LEFT – AFTER

FLOOR – BEFORE

FLOOR – BEFORE

FLOOR – AFTER

You’ll see I have five empty bins of varying sizes on the floor.  This will give me room to grow if I want, but there is no rush to fill those bins with yarn.  I also have two bins I keep in the living room under the coffee table.  They contain my WIPs.  I now have five projects on the needles.  I present in order to priority:

  1. Brendan’s Sweater – deadline knit that is my current active project, the others are hibernating.
  2. Elephant Socks #2 – my next deadline knit to complete, these were gifted last year in a too small size and I’ll deliver the right size this Christmas.
  3. Clapotis #2 – might be a Christmas prezzie for someone if I finish it in time, if not oh well.
  4. Hey Teach! – I don’t have a cardi for myself and I want one, so this is a priority knit to finish so I can wear it at work.
  5. Couch Afghan – my “long-term” WIP that has no expected completion date and will always be last in priority.

my wips

Now, let’s see how long this all lasts!

3 thoughts on “On The Stash

Famous Last Words:

