For Brooke – ZigZag Blanket – Strip One

(08.17.2015 – EVEN BETTER NEWS!  I have completed the entire tutorial post and have linked it here for your viewing pleasure. )

(08.04.2015 – GOOD NEWS KNITTERS.  I’m going to update this tutorial in the next few days/weeks at the request of my beloved followers.  You asked for it and I’m going to make it happen!  This post will be updated completely for the entire blanket.  Stay tuned!)

Brooke, this post is for you.

For everyone else, I’m covering the stitches required to knit a Ten Stitch Zigzag by Frankie Brown.

All links linked here have been added to my “How to Knit” page.

  • The first thing you want to do is cast on ten stitches.  Any cast on method will work, use your favorite.

Step One

The next step requires knitting into the front and back loop of your stitch.  Now I tried to take some photos of this, however it isn’t easy holding a camera to snap a picture while demonstrating.  For this reason I am going to point you to a blog that has FANTASTIC graphics that will leave no questions.  This link opens in a new window/tab so click and come back here once you have the method down.

Now that you understand how your knitting looks and can identify the front and back loop of a knit stitch, the following video is amazing at showing you how to kfb.

I’ve added the pictures I took in case it helps.  I’m sure the above served their purpose — I found them fantastic and perfect.  The first link might need a bit of concentration but the video helps.

FRONT LOOP

BACK LOOP

  • So now you knit 7 stitches and you’re left with 2 more on your left hand needle.

You will be increasing and decreasing a lot during this pattern.  The important thing to note is  you will ALWAYS end up with TEN stitches on your needle after each row.  If you have more than TEN you did something wrong.  Go back and unknit the row (or rip if you’re okay with that).  Figure out where you went wrong because this pattern will not look the way intended if your count is off.  Ask me how I know.

Two on the left and nine on the right.  Time to K2tog.

K2tog is simple — if you can perform a knit stitch you can achieve this decrease.  K(anything)tog follows the same rule.  You will complete the following steps, just alter the # of stitches.

  • Insert your right needle from LEFT to RIGHT into the stitch on the left and then into the stitch on the right.  Both stitches will now be on your right needle, ready to wrap and pull your yarn loop through.

This is what the first step of k2tog looks like.

Now wrap your yarn around your right needle and pull this loop through.  Drop the two stitches off your left needle.

There really is no better way to explain.  I’ve included the following video which might help in the demonstration of this in case it is necessary.

You basically repeat this row over and over again for the first strip.  I recommend that as a beginner you should count your rows for the first strip.

See those markers that Guido wants to chew on? Those indicate — if I’m going to join on this row, start the row pattern opposite what I’m working now.

Sure it might be easy to count ridges, but I’ve been knitting for seven years and I never rely on this.  Doing this blanket has made it easier to learn to count ridges but I rely on things more specific, like markers that tell me when I need to switch up.  If you don’t have removable markers, use ANYTHING.  You can cut yarn and tie an easy to remove knot, use safety pins, use earings.  Get creative.

Remember to mark ROW TEN.  Not nine not eleven.  After you finish knitting row ten — go back and insert something that’ll stay on this row.  Don’t ask questions, just do it.

Now if you type out the pattern row by row, the following would represent how it looks.  For the sake of it because the pattern is free and I’m linking it here and I’m trying to teach a beginner.

Row 1    kf&b, k7, k2tog.
Row 2    Knit.
Row 3    kf&b, k7, k2tog.
Row 4    Knit.
Row 5    kf&b, k7, k2tog.
Row 6    Knit.
Row 7    kf&b, k7, k2tog.
Row 8    Knit.
Row 9    kf&b, k7, k2tog.
Row 10  Knit.

Row 11    Knit
Row 12    kf&b, k7, k2tog.
Row 13    Knit
Row 14    kf&b, k7, k2tog.
Row 15    Knit
Row 16    kf&b, k7, k2tog.
Row 17    Knit
Row 18    kf&b, k7, k2tog.
Row 19    Knit
Row 20    kf&b, k7, k2tog.

Row 21    kf&b, k7, k2tog.
Row 22    Knit.
Row 23    kf&b, k7, k2tog.
Row 24    Knit.
Row 25    kf&b, k7, k2tog.
Row 26    Knit.
Row 27    kf&b, k7, k2tog.
Row 28    Knit.
Row 29    kf&b, k7, k2tog.
Row 30  Knit.

The above exercise has a specific purpose.  I wanted to point out that you will end up doing the same row TWICE.  This creates the zig and zag.  Don’t be afraid, just do what the row instructions say, you’ll understand after you complete rows 1-20.  By row 21 you’ll be a pro.  By row 40 you’ll have the pattern memorized.

Don’t worry, the next strip changes things up because you join as you go.  This will be covered in another post.

13 thoughts on “For Brooke – ZigZag Blanket – Strip One

  1. Thank you soo much!! You are truly an amazing person to help me out like this. I am very excited to try this out now! Now I have something I can work on while watching college football this fall!! Go Buckeyes!!

    Like

      • Ok I don’t know what I’m doing wrong but after I knit front and back I end up with 20 stitches instead of 10. I’m following the video and it is adding on a stitch every time. How do you Kfb without adding an extra stitch?

        Like

          • I also want to make sure you’re following the row-by-row instructions in the post. Kfb, k7, then k2tog. On the next row you knit. This creates the diagonal for your zig. The zag is started by doing the opposite row you previously did.

            Don’t increase and decrease on every row, you must have the knit row for the shape to form.

            Like

        • You kfb in the first stitch of the row. You k2tog in the last two stitches of the row.

          So you increase by 1 at the beginning and then decrease by 1 at the end.

          Always end the row with 10 stitches. If you have more, something was missed you should go back to fix it.

          Like

  2. Pingback: Here it is | Purls just wanna have fun
    • I knit through the numbness usually. If it gets so I can’t make a stitch then I set my needles down and move my hands and fingers in all possible directions, crack a few joints, and begin knitting again.

      Like

Famous Last Words:

