Boo to the Short Row!

I’ve done it before, it is easy.  Or so I thought.  I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve had to recast my stitches.

I started working on the Lace Stockings I’m making for a friend at work.  The short rows are done in a way I’ve never done before.  The pattern calls for a “Turn and YO” and I’m not sure when it says to “work  the yo from front to back” if that means front to back of the work or by orientation.  You’d think this would be obvious, but apparently not.  It made me turn on my laptop and research before I could go any further.

Yarn Over Short Row Help

Apparently it means that when knitting use the normal yarn over for knitting.  When purling, reverse this.  So the answer is front/back of work and not orientation.  Now that I’m thinking about it, that would make the most sense.  I do tend to over think things.  This is where my boyfriend would say, “Dork” in the affectionate way only he could.

It is getting too late tonight to continue, but tomorrow is another day.  I wonder if I’ll get the chance to cast this on without interruptions.  I did give myself a head start by casting on my provisional chain in scrap yarn.  While I’m thinking about it, I’ll stuff some removable stitch markers just to keep track.  I’m sure once I get going I’ll know where to “Turn and YO” but this next cast on is the last!

Project Details

My Project Page: Lace Stockings
Yarn Used: MC: Knit Picks Capretta in Black
Yarn Used: CC: Knit Picks Stroll Glimmer in Runway
Pattern Page: #04 Lace Stockings
Pattern Designer: Lynette Meek

Famous Last Words:

