Hemlock Ring Blanket

Will there be enough yarn?

I’ve been wanting to make one of these since the moment I first saw it back in the early days of Ravelry.  I had to frog an old project to cast this one on.  The ten stitch blanket that it used to be had been put aside too long to just pick up and knit again.

Originally, the plan was to use this as a lap blanket.  Either that or go way past the gold line on the feather and fan charts.  I was running low on yarn.  Seriously low.  I made a few Quick Knit Coasters before I cast on and started eyeing them sideways as I knit, wondering which would be my first victim.

Thankfully I didn’t need to, but that worry wasn’t misplaced.  This is all the yarn left on the cone.

To the scrap pile it goes!

I’d classify this as an easy knit.  It looks very intimidating, don’t let this stop you!

Helpful Hints:

  • Knitting to the gold line on the feather and fan chart makes a baby or small lap blanket — unblocked.
  • Row 47 – the pattern attempts to over/under explain, and therefore confuses.  This “row” is only nine stitches long.  If you used a marker for the beginning of the round, remove it.  Knit nine stitches.  Replace the marker. Knit row 1 of the feather and fan chart.
  • One cone of Elmore-Pisgah Peaches & Creme worsted weight yarn is enough to make one gold-lined blanket.
  • Crochet the bind-off.  I knit mine and wished I’d hadn’t.  If you don’t know how, it is worth learning the two stitches.  Ravelry PM me if you have to.

Project Details

My Project Page: Hemlock #1
Yarn Used: Pisgah Yarn & Dyeing Co., Inc Peaches & Creme Solids in Chocolate
Pattern Page: Hemlock Ring Blanket
Pattern Designer: Jared Flood

Famous Last Words:

